1. Default Route 66 Help

Hi my girlfriend and I are looking to travel Route 66 this summer. We are going to take a month and drive from Buffalo to LA on route 66, then take a tour of the norther states on the way home, hitting up Yellowstone National Park and Mount Rushmore. I have never done a big road trip like this before and I am looking for some budgeting help. So far here is what I have.

Subaru Impreza TS
    16 gal
    29 mpg
    300 miles per tank
    22 tanks for entire trip @ $4.00 per gallon
    $1408 fuel for trip

Food: Assuming I will be taking my charcoal grill with us, which means we will plan on cooking a majority of the time, we are planning on budgeting about $800 on food.

Lodging: This is where the biggest question comes in. We are looking at probably camping. We are really tight for money on the trip, so we hope this is where we can make up some of the cost. I have been looking into camp sites and they are around $20 per night. I was almost considering just staying in cheap motels along the way, figuring maybe $50 per night. Does that sound about right? Or am i really undershooting the price. I figured for lodging about $1,500

This would bring our total budge for the trip to around $4,000. What do you think about this. Any help would be appreciated.

Default Just my thoughts

Assuming you take the whole 30 days, your estimate for both gas and lodging should be sufficient. The trip will be between 6000-7000 miles. Let's hope that gas is below $4.00 per gallon and that is open to debate.

So far as lodging, to stay under 50 a night, do not stay in either Chicago or LA. Their prices are much higher. If you check a guide book such as "EZ66 Guide for Travelers" by Jerry McClanahan you will find period motels that will be more in the range of 35-45 a night.