Default New York to wherever..

I am visiting the US for just over 2 months and staying in New York presently, I really want to see as much of America as I can and as such I thought a Road trip was the way to go.

I really don't have any plans as yet other than dreams of driving cross country to San Fransisco then down the West coast to LA. Is this too far for a month and a half? I don't want to blast through the route it would be nice to stop for a few days here and there along the route.

I have some money saved for it but probably not enough to do the whole route alone, I am looking for anything and everything; Advice on routes, People who might want to come along for part, or all, of the journey, and anything else I should know.

I would be looking to leave at the end of June, or beginning of July.

I am a 26 year old Architect, who loves the outdoors, surfing, snowboarding, traveling, and meeting new people.

Western/Central Massachusetts

Default Welcome!

Welcome to the RoadTrip America Forum!

It takes about five days to drive coast-to-coast in the US, so a month and a half gives you plenty of time to get out and meander.

About what are you looking at for a budget for this trip? This will go a long way helping you get some valuable suggestions. You do have the majority of the country at your fingertips with this time frame.

Here is a start to a possible route. Figure on a week for this portion; this should give you an idea of what is possible.

Leaving New York up to New England, visit the Connecticut coastline, up to Boston, then on to New Hampshire and Vermont for the White and Green Mountains, respectively.

West into New York and across the Northern Tier, through the Adirondacks.
    West along the coast of Lake Erie.

Are you planning on returning to New York at the end of your trip?

Tucson, AZ

Default Plenty of Time to Wander - An Alternative Route

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!