Default Fargo, ND to Seattle

Hi all,

I am planning on driving from Fargo ND to Seattle WA next week.

My plan is as follows:

leave Wednesday from Fargo, ND - stay in Billings, MT Wednesday overnight

leave Billings Thursday - stay in Seattle Thursday overnight

I am estimating 12 hrs of driving for each day. Is this a fair estimation?

I haven't done this route before.. however, I have driven from Winnipeg, Canada to Vancouver, Canada in 2 days at a similar pace.

My concerns are about the mountain passes in Montana and Eastern Washington. I have been looking at the state webcams and it seems to always be snowing in the passes. I don't have snow tires (all seasons) and I have never used chains before. I am hoping the weather will be much better next week? It will be May 1.

Do you think I can do this drive?

I am driving a 2dr. 4cy. Honda Civic.

thanks for your advice.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default A Challenge

Welcome to the RTA forum!

If you've done Winnepeg to Vancouver, then this really should be pretty similar to what you did before. It will require two very long days and it will take about 12 hours on the road both days. That amount of driving, especially traveling solo, is stressful, so stop and take a break whenever your focus starts to wonder, and don't be afraid to stop short of your 2 day goal.

One thing I would change, instead of planning to stop in Billings, I would aim for Bozeman. It will make for two more even spaced days, and the day that will be slightly longer would be your first day, when you should be more rested and less tired from your marathon trip behind the wheel.

I really wouldn't worry about the mountains too much. You may have to slow down somewhat, but I wouldn't expect them to cause many problems.

Washington state coast/Olympic Peninsula

Default Chains?

I just checked the webcams for Snoqualmie Pass (on I-90) and things are bare. Wet, right now, but bare.