Default Another First...

I'm sure this information has already been covered bit by bit throughout the threads, but I was hoping someone might be kind enough to respond to me directly so that I could stop racking my brain trying to get all the tidbits straight!

My husband and I are taking our first roadtrip together. We are pretty excited, but me (being the realist of the group) is getting nervous that we are not planning enough (we don't want to miss out on the experience of the spontenaity--imagine the whole "into the wild" scene where the money is burned)--so, here I am--on the down low-- getting some advice about our plans. No one tell my husband I'm getting old and losing my cool...

Here's the deal--

~We are 30 & 31 and have no children
    ~we are professionals (husband musician and I'm a psychologist)
    ~we have a lot of experience traveling together (we've been married 9yrs)
    ~we have backpacked for years together and car camped more times than I can count--so, we own all the gear and have worked out all the "kinks" in setting up a comfortable camp.
    ~we own (and will be driving) a 2006 Saturn Ion 5 speed that consistently gets approx. 36mpg on the highway
    ~we own a timeshare that is throughout the US that you use points to stay at a per night rate--- we have saved up for 2 years so that we could use these points on this trip.
    ~we have friends who live throughout the country that we will be staying with/meeting up with.
    ~we are trying to do this in 2.5 weeks (we have longer if we need it, but we are having a house/dog sitter) from June 30th on.

This is our GOAL:
    ~Start in Rochester, NY and head west
    ~Meet up with a friend in St. Louis for a day
    ~End at our friends in San Diego
    ~Head back

What we would LIKE to see: (we are not very far in the planning process yet!)
    ~Missippi River
    ~Las Vegas (timeshare--possible 2days)
    ~Grand Canyon
    ~Rocky Mountains