Thread: DC to San Diego

Default DC to San Diego

Hello!

Every year I go out to San Diego for the Comic & Pop-Culture Convention (I'm a comic book editor and occasional writer). I decided to drive out there this year. It's something I've wanted to do for some time plus one book I'm working on has the main character taking this trip and another book I'm working on could benefit from a Memphis visit.

I'm doing the trip solo. Unfortunately the summer is my busy time so I have to condense the road trip into a week's worth of driving. The plan was to have overnights in Roanoke, Nashville, Memphis, OK City, Albuquerque, Flagstaff, and Scottsdale (and then spending four night in San Diego, of course). I'd fly back on Sunday. I wanted to structure the trip so that I could at least get a full day of Memphis in and also make a detour to see the Grand Canyon.

So...does this sound like too much for a solo trip? The longest drive is about 8 hours with the average duration being around 6 hours. I mean, that sounds doable but I've honestly never done anything remotely close to this. My longest solo drive was DC to Boston.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Default Almost There

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!