Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default New England to ? Everywhere HELP?!?

Im brand new to this, and very interested in using this as a resource to plan the road trip my sister and I are planning for late this spring/fall. We plan to be on the road for a month, venturing from east to west coast and hitting some hidden gems on the way. we have been searching online, but i feel this would help us to branch out and plan our trip even more.

Were going from Vermont to the California coast and down through the south, arizona, new orleans, then shooting back up to good ol' vt.

o yeah and we were wondering if anyone had any hostel experiences/advice to share... as most young road trippers, or any road trippers really, we're on a tight budget and so camping, staying with friends, and hostels are what we plan on for overnights.
    and... does anyone know if there are options for wireless internet cards that you can buy for just a month or so... is this possible? expensive i imagine?
    Last edited by Midwest Michael; 04-01-2008 at 05:54 PM.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Hostels

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I've stayed in a handful of hostels in the US, and found they can be a good option, in the right situation.

First, they are a cheap option for sleeping, some times. You can expect to pay around $20 per night and they are generally located right in an urban area, where hotels would be much more expensive. However, they also charge per person, which means if you've got more than one person, you can often find a room cheaper at a low end motel on the edge of town. Parking can also be an issue, as in, many simply don't have parking lots, which means you have to hunt for a place to put your car.