1. Default 1 month + 2 weeks, $8000, US coast to coast round trip possible?

hey guys, im currently a student in WA, thinking of going on a road trip this summer with 3 other friends. im the one who suggested this, so currently im planning everything out. heres my very badly drawn line of where im thinking of going:

so basically down to san fran, los angeles, up to vegas, then straight across the central us following I-40 until we hit wash d.c., then up to boston, then start going west, past chicago, then back home -

$8000 to spend ($2000 each)
    1 month 2 weeks
    will not be camping
    taking either the 15 mi./gal. mercedes, or, the 19 mi./gal. kia (is it possible with such a light car?)
    we're students - we're not going to be staying in any place fancy, or eating anything too expensive

also, the planner of this whole thing (me), has never gone on a road trip other than VERY short family ones, and so has almost no idea of whats possible or whats not possible, or how to realistically formulate a road trip. btw, my family does not travel a lot (i wish we did..)

so is this a realistic trip to be planning to do, for one who is so inexperienced? the main reason why i want to do this, is that im worried that there wont be very many chances to do something like this again. i dont want to regret anything. just wondering if anyone has any input/suggestions - thanks!
    Last edited by Mark Sedenquist; 03-26-2008 at 08:22 PM. Reason: Preferred URL format herein

2. Default

ok i should have also added in - i dont want to do a drive all day, drive all night, rush to cover miles routine - there are plenty of things to see, side roads to take if we want, and leeway to stay and take our time experiencing the area... so is it possible to do the trip "comfortably"? thanks

Default Welcome!

Welcome to the RoadTrip America Forum!

Quote Originally Posted by rex-craft7 View Post
    $8000 to spend ($2000 each)
    1 month 2 weeks
    will not be camping