1. Default San Francisco, CA to Columbus, OH - Road choice?

Hey all,

This is my first long trip, and also my first time on these forums. I am going to be driving from Santa Rosa, CA (45 min north of San Francisco) to Columbus, Ohio. (I'm a college student starting a 6 month internship at Honda R&D, woohoo!). I need to get to Columbus on March 29th, so I was thinking of leaving CA on the 24th or 25th.

I have a few different route possibilities:

#1) I-80 all the way. Through Salt Lake City, Cheyenne, Chicago, then down to Columbus.

#2) I-80 out of CA and through Nevada, then take 15 south from Salt Lake City, then I-70 East for the rest of the way.

#3) Rte 50 out of CA and through Nevada, then meet up with I-70 in Utah. I-70 for the rest of the way.

I'm shying away from #1 because I have heard that I-70 is a more scenic drive. Is that true? I'm also a little wary of taking Rte 50 because Wikipedia tells me that it deservedly earns its nickname of "loneliest road in the US". So, it looks like #2 might be my best bet. I would love all of your input!

Some things to consider:
    I'll be driving a Miata, packed to the brim.
    I'd like to avoid as much bad weather as possible (another reason I'm thinking I-70 might be better, as it is further south. True?)
    I won't be doing much sightseeing along the way.
    I much prefer smaller, twistier roads than major interstates (again, a Miata).

I am reading "Travels with Charley" by John Steinbeck right now, so that has inspired me to take back roads if at all possible, at least part of the time. I know that the routes I planned out don't include any back roads, but if you guys have any suggestions of good "driver's" roads along the way, let me know.

Thanks so much!
    -Max

Default Option 4

Welcome to the RTA Forum!