1. Default road trip from DC to Seattle in April

Hey Everyone,
    My family and I are moving from Washington DC to Seattle in mid April. My Wife and kids will be flying but I'll be driving across with our two dogs. I'm just beginning to plan my trip and was hoping I could get some advice from more experienced roadies.
    I'm trying to guage which route to take. I have 10-14 days and would like to see some of the sites and national parks. I imagine I may have trouble with the two dogs and am trying to come up with a strategy. I'm also trying to decide whether to take a northern, southern or middle route across country. And if I do go the middle or southern route should I cross the rockies and then head north or go north and then cross the rockies.
    I do have friends in Boulder that I'm trying to meet up with and I'm hoping to do a mix of camping (or cabin) and staying in motels along the way.
    I haven't seen much of the US except the East coast.

I'm trying to figure out what is feasible and any advice you could offer would be gratly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Karl

Default Some of the Best of the West for not too Many Miles

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!