Default Most direct route from Vegas to Yosemite.

Hello all,
    This is my first time on this forum, so be gentle with me! I know there are similar questions to this on the forum already, but I just canít find the exact info Iím looking for. We are hoping to travel from Las Vegas to Yosemite in one day this August. Bearing in mind the temperature, I think we are going to avoid Death Valley and take the most direct route. Can anyone describe or even post a link to the most direct route? I tried Google Earth, but it seems to send me through Death Valley. Also, I read that the drive is doable in under 8 hours, is this really feasible including petrol and food stops? Many thanks in advance for any replies.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Not as simple as it might seem

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

The word "direct" could trip you up here a little, since direct and fastest aren't really the same thing. It also depends upon where in Yosemite National Parks you want to be.

The most direct route basically runs through Death Valley, over to US-395 and enters Yosemite Park via Tioga Pass. You wouldn't have to go through Death Valley, you could bypass it, say by going up US-95 from Vegas and Cutting over to Big Pine via NV-266 and CA-168, but you wouldn't save much time and you'd still be driving through the desert.

These routes would be the most direct, and could get you to the park gates within 8 hours, although I suspect you'd need a little more time to actually make it into Yosemite Valley, the heart of the park on the west side of the Sierra.