Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Seattle to Flagstaff and back, 7 days

My husband and I and three dogs are heading down to Cottonwood, AZ for a dog agility competition at the beginning of April, and decided to make a *very fast-paced* road trip out of it. A few parts (the beginning in particular) are set in stone, but I want to make sure we aren't driving past anything really really cool without stopping to see it. We are constrained by my Spring Break (I am a teacher), so we have about 8 days.

Here is the planned route:

Day 1: Seattle to Salt Lake City - camping on Antelope Island
    Day 2: SLC to Cottonwood - Camping at Dead Horse Ranch
    Day 3-4 : All day in Cottonwood. Evening of Day 3 might go see Tuzigoot, and evening of Day 4 Drive up to South Rim Grand Canyon- Camping at Mathers
    Day 5: South Rim - Camping at Mathers
    Day 6: Drive the East Rim Road, head over through Monument Valley, Camping at Arches
    Day 7: Drive northward. Camping at Bruneau Dunes, ID.
    Day 8: Final Drive to Seattle

We can't change days 1-4 other than to add some very brief stops to day 1 or 2, or different side trips to day 3 (we won't be able to do anything until about 4-5 pm that day though). Would love suggestions of can't miss pull-outs etc along the route though. I know we are missing some really cools stuff (Bryce, Zion), but contraints of time etc forced us to choose. Neither of us has seen any of this area before (aside from the parts in WA/OR) so up for any suggestions. Kitschy tourist crap, anything science related, or just awesome scenery for folks used to the Seattle green and rain. Bonus points for dog friendly.

Thanks!

Default Agility Trials....cool!

What kinds of dogs do you have?

Welcome to the Roadtrip America forums!

Well, I hate to tell ya, but I see a few red flags with your intended route.

Day 1: Seattle to Salt Lake City - camping on Antelope Island