1. Default Road tolls in USA, & cellphones

Hi Folks, I'm a newbie from UK planning an 11 week trip across the country. What a great site you have here, and so many decent people willing to help us out!

Can anyone guide me please as to how frequently I am going to find road tolls? (Here in UK it is mostly only on bridges, plus the odd section of motorway.) Would the tolls be just on the Interstates, or are they more widespread...? And any guidance on how much is payable will be appreciated.

2nd question: is my mobile/cellphone going to find coverage most of the time? Or will I find myself in quite large areas with no coverage between major cities?

Default Depends

The answer to both questions depends hugely on what area you will be visiting. I've never really had a huge issue with mobile/cell reception - the only places I've sometimes struggles to pick up reception is inside the national parks. Other than that I have always picked up one network or another when I've wanted to call/text someone. Just remember to check you have a quad/tri band phone and call your service provider to ensure they have enabled roaming for you.

RoadTripper Brad Guest

Default Location

Tollways in the US are sporadic. There are many more tollways in the Eastern Half of the US than the Western Half. The few tollways there are out west are Bridges, such as the new Tacoma Narrows Bridge in Tacoma, Washington. However, the further east you go the more likely you are to find toll highways.

Best thing to do is get a good atlas. Most tollways in the US are well marked on maps in a bright green stripe. However, where there is a tollway, there is usually another way to get where you're going.

4. Default Tolls and Cell Phones..