1. Default Revised Road Trip 08

Alright this is my first time posting on this forum and I am hoping someone can help me. I was trying to plan a road trip for me and some friends ages range from 19 to 21, from Miami out to Cali this summer prob going to take 2 or 3 weeks off depending. At first everybody seemed ready to do it and then they started to become unsure about going. So right know I am trying to get some facts so I can re-inspire them and regain the hype. Basically I would like to know the fastest way to Cali and how long will it take, and since we would probably do sight seeing on the way back whats the best route coming back for sight seeing and what are some of the best stops to check out. We are probably going to spend a majority of time in Cali surfing and checking out the sites, but which one are the best and more memorable to go to.

Also while traveling up we are going to rotate drivers around since there might be around 5 of us. would it be easier to stop at a truck stop and sleep in the vehicle or stop off at a hotel. Also what things should we bring to keep us occupied while driving and what are some helpful items to bring on a road trip that just wont take up space. Next thing which I am not to sure about is bringing something to protect yourself in a bad situation such as a knife, or a gun what are the laws about them while on road trips?
    Thanks for any help and please do contribute anything else everything would be helpful.

Default common sense

Welcome to the RTA Forum!
    At first everybody seemed ready to do it and then they started to become unsure about going. So right know I am trying to get some facts so I can re-inspire them and regain the hype.