1. Default Suggestions for 2 from VA to CA and back?! :)

Hi there!
    I am graduating from school in May and my boyfriend and I are going to take a trip from Warrenton, VA to California and back.

So far I have an idea of the way out there but would really appreciate some suggestions as I know nothing about any part of our country except for the east coast.
    The following itinerary is based on places that I have to stay along the way. Any ideas of where to stop along the way or alternative routes is greatly appreciated!
    Also an idea of how much to budget would be great also!!
    I am a college student so virtually have nothing but my credit card... so WAYS TO SAVE MONEY WOULD BE GREAT!!!
    Since the places below are all places where I have family, they are obviously free! But I still need to figure out how much it is going to be to camp or stay in hotels along the way...

Monday, May 26th- VA to New Orleans- 16 hours
    think we can do 16 hours in one day?
    also this is memorial day- think we should leave earlier/later because of traffic??

Thursday, May 29- New Orleans to Dallas, TX- 8 hours
    I don't know anyone in Dallas, but since it's on the way I figure we should splurge and stay a night.

Friday, May 30- Dallas to Oklahoma City- 3 1/2 hours
    I have an uncle here that works a lot so it would be nice to stay here for the weekend when he is free.

**I have relatives in Odessa, TX and Phoenix, AZ--but it seems that it would be out of the way to go there...suggestions?**

Monday, June 2- OK City to Flagstaff, AZ- 12 hours
    We want to camp on the way to the bottom of the Grand Canyon but have no clue how much time to invest into this... should we stay in Flagstaff the first night, then get up early the next morning, drive to GC and hike down there, stay at the bottom one night, the hike up??
    Also, should be stay in Alberquerque along the way since it's a long drive?

Saturday, June 7- Grand Canyon to Joshua Tree National Park- 6 hours