Default East Coast Road Trip

I am new to these threads, just finding the site today due to researching about a plan to go on a road-trip this summer. It's still in the beginning stages but I'd like to do most of the research before we really decide on specific things. I've been trying to figure out costs, mostly for gas at the moment, since I heard that's what drains your money the most.

I've figured that doing the whole east to west coast was too big of a plan. I've been on long drives before, never really for a road-trip though. The farthest I've gone before I think was from Atlanta to somewhere in California. Unfortunately I was around 1 year old...so yeah...I wouldn't remember that. The most frequent car-trips I've taken is each year from Atlanta, Ga to Chicago, Illinois with the parents and my brother. Most of our family lives up there. So I'm not entirely foreign to long trips in the car with not many breaks. When we take those trips we often do it in one day, sitting in the car for a good 6 hours before any breaks.

I have also done a few camping events as a child. My brother was in karate and would do summer trips up to some place in Georgia (I'm drawing a blank where) and camp out for a few days while they did training and what-not. And he was also in some boyscout thing I went to which was camping. So it's not like I have NO idea what camping is like. So I've got some experience, but probably not as much as is ideal, but I'm up to the idea of camping out every other night or so, or more if needed.

So now that you know the things I've had experience with. I'll tell you what I've been thinking about. I want to do this trip with a close friend of mine. My friend is 19 and I'll be 18 this April. Because I realize we need to split costs of gas and lodging, I've thought about inviting another two friends close to us, or at the LEAST one more friend. Both these friends are 19 and 20.