1. Default Yellowstone Roadtrip in March

Hi all, I am a student studying at OU in Norman, Oklahoma. During the spring vacation (March 15-23) I will have family visiting from England and am thinking about roadtripping from Norman, just south of OKC, to Yellowstone. I have been route planning and have decided the best route would involve taking the I-35 north to Salina, Kansas, then the I-70 west to Denver. From there, I would take the I-25 north to Cheyenne, then the I-80 to Rock Springs and finally use the highways to reach West Yellowstone, having made three overnight stops on the way. I could really use your help and advice on a number things:

Do you think the trip is realistic and is this the most sensible route to take?

Would this trip be possible by car at this time of year (with possible snow over high altitude roads)?

What is there to see nearby on the stretch of the journey through Colorado?

Is there much choice of accommodation at West Yellowstone in March, and would it be advisable to book soon?

I understand the Grand Loop Road in the park will be closed to wheeled vehicles. Will all the attractions in the park still be accessible from West Yellowstone, ie are there many ways to get around form here? Are these expensive? Can the Grand Teton National Park also be accessed?

Is there much wildlife to be seen at this time of year?

Thanks for your help!

Tucson, AZ

Default You Should Be More Than Fine

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!