Default San Fransisco-Phoenix in February

Dear readers,

My name is Bram and I'm from the Netherlands. I'm planning to visit the United States in February and from everything I've heard the best way to explore your wonderful country is by car.

I've browsed this website and it has a wonderful depth of information. However, there are some questions I still have. Let me start by describing the trip I have in mind:

- We fly to San Fransisco and explore San Fransisco for a day or two. Probably we won't hire the car just then because from what I've heard San Fransisco is easier to explore by public transit.
    - We have three days to explore some national or state park. Currently we are considering either Yosemite NP or a trip down highway 1. I'm leaning towards the latter, since I have little experience driving in snow. Do you have any ideas or tips in this regard?
    - We visit LA for two days. After this, two people fly back to the Netherlands and a party of two (my girlfriend and I) remain. According to the Lonely Planet having a car can be a hassle while exploring LA. Will it be worthwhile to return the car at the start of our visit and rent a new one two days later? I am not very familiar with rental rates so I'm not sure which is cheaper - ponying up for initial fees twice, or paying for a car that won't be used for two days that needs parking too.
    - After this we head east. I have no firm idea on the exact itinary. All I know is that we have a week to reach Phoenix and want to visit Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon. Do you have suggested itinaries for this route? Are there things I really shouldn't miss? Will I definitely need snow chains or are there ways to avoid the snowfall on this road altogether?

And last but not least: are there things I might have missed that are obvious to an American but not to a dutchie?

Thanks in advance for any pointers and tips!

Kind regards
    Bram

RoadTripper Brad Guest

Default Welcome to the USA!