Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default SF to SD, no LA please

I've driven down to San Diego many times, but always going through Los Angeles.

I hear that there is a shortcut east of the mountains that is actually faster.
    Hwy 14 - Hwy 138 - Hwy 15
    I have never tried this before. Any clues? Thanks!

Default It All Depends

The difference between the two routes is going to largely be a function of Los Angeles traffic. The route you describe, through Bakersfield, Lancaster and even the eastern fringes of the Los Angeles metro area is about 50 miles (10%) longer and should take nominally about an hour and a half longer. But that is on the presumption that traffic is moving at the speed limit through Los Angeles. If I had to bet, I wouldn't bet on that. On the other hand, the eastern route involves surface streets through the cities I've listed and one or two others. If I had to make this choice, I would certainly give the alternate, eastern route a try on one of your many drives, particularly one which would otherwise take you through the heart of L.A. at or near rush hour and see what you thought of it. In a case like that you wouldn't have much to lose, and perhaps a whole lot to gain.

AZBuck

Default unlikely to save time

I've taken CA-58 to CA-14 to CA-138 to I-15 as you've listed, although I guess I've never gone all the way to San Diego - I've only used it to connect with I-10.

CA-138 is a fairly slow route. It spends a fair amount of time going through town in the Palmdale area. On the eastern end, it is curvy and fairly mountainous, so that will slow you down. And in the middle, I saw a show that once declared it to be one of the most dangerous highways in America because its two lanes, with straight but fairly hilly stretches that can throw off your depth perception, leading to some nasty head-on collisions while people are attempting passing manuvers. And on top of all that I-15 can see its share of congestion too.