1. Default New York To California- Help!

Hey! My name is Carolyn. I am a college student trying to plan a road trip for about a month in the summer going from NY to California and then possibily to Wilmington, NC (so we could stay at my house there and crash for a few days to rest up before heading back to NY). I have a few Questions:
    1. Is a month a sufficient amount of time to set aside for this trip?
    2. What is the best route for this trip (which includes hitting chicago, colorado, las vegas)?
    3. Do you have any cool sight suggestions that we could hit on the way?
    4. Do you have any cool sight suggestions we can hit in California? (we plan on going from northern cali to southern cali)
    5. How much money do you think a trip like this would cost? (A rough estimate would be perfect)

Green County, Wisconsin

Default back and forth

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

A month is enough time to do this trip. It sounds like you've already got a basic route laid out, going through Chicago, Colorado, and Vegas working west, back up to Northern California, down the coast and back across to North Carolina.

As far as your budget is concerned, There's no way to even give you a ballpark because there are way too many variables. Your sleeping plans, your eating plans, How much fun stuff you plan to stop at, your mode of transportation will all have a huge impact on what your ballpark expenses will be. Having said that, this thread should give you the basics to help build your budget.

Tucson, AZ

Default It's a Long Road

Hmmm... You're probably looking at a minimum of 6,800 miles to do everything you've set, although 7,000-8,000 miles is more likely once you start veering off the main road to start seeing stuff. Still, that's quite doable in a month as long as you average around 250 mile a day. That is a lot of driving.