Default 13 States, 14 days

I'm 18, just graduated high school and working for a year before going to college. I've always wanted to do a cross-country road trip, but living in a big family with little siblings made this unrealistic. Finally I have my freedom.

Car: 1997 Pontiac Grand Am (I'm a fair mechanic and this car is in good shape and reliable)

Companions: might be just the radio, iPod, road maps and a camera.

Date: sometime next spring after I know what schools i've been accepted to

Reason: mostly for kicks, see parts of the country i've never been to, visit friends, tour some colleges.

Stops: Decorah, IA, Colorado Springs, CO, Laramie, WY, Provo, UT, San Francisco, CA, Scappoose, WA, Rexburg, ID, Minneapolis, MN, HOME.

THE PLAN: Leave my home in Fond du Lac, WI, spend night with a friend in decorah, IA.

From there, drive as quickly as possible to Colorado, one overnight stop. (Is there anything to stop and see along the way in IA and NB?). In Colorado, stay in Colorado Springs and tour schools i've applied to.

Next stop is visiting a friend going to Wyotech in Laramie WY, then look at more schools in Utah while staying with a friend near Provo.

Then go see San Fransisco before heading north to stay with a friend about 2hrs. east of Portland, WA.

Stop one day in Rexburg, ID, tour BYU-Idaho, spend night somewhere. Travel to Minneapolis.

Visit friend in Minneapolis, drive home next day.

I plan on taking two weeks to do this trip, staying in a reasonable motel whenever i'm not staying with someone and packing food for at least one meal a day to cut costs. I may be completely alone in the car, but since i'll be staying with several people, i'm not gonna be by myself for two solid weeks.

I'm not too concerned about money, I'm saving 70-80% of what I make right now anyway. Once I have my plans solidified, I will make myself a budget to stick to, just so that when I get home, I don't suddenly discover that I spent two or three times what I intended.