1. Default Through the West - Nov2007

Hi guys,

I'm 'new' here, but I think this forum will be a good help. To introduce myself, I'm Laurent from Belgium. I spended my last 4 vacations in the States doing roadtrips in California, Nevada en Georgia/Florida.

From october 30th till november 10th I'm back in the States. Like previous years I'm first in Vegas to photograph a show in the convention center. Normally after a few days, I'm heading west with my rental car to pass a few days in LA too.
    This year, it's going to be different.
    After a few days Las Vegas, we'll spend one day at the Grand Canyon and return in the evening to our hotel in Vegas. But the next day we're heading for San Francisco. It's a long trip but we want to do it in one day. Leaving very early in the morning around 6-7am, and have a late arrival in San Francisco to visit the city the day after.

I studied some roadmaps to pick out a good route, and we want to go through Death Valley and then north west, trough Yosemite to San Francisco. Normally we will also have a GPS but I rather check my route on a map too, and double check it now here with you guys.

This what I found out as route from Las Vegas to San Francisco :

Las Vegas
    Highway 95 north to Beatty
    I-374 west through Death Valley to Keeler
    I-136 west till junction with the Highway 395
    Highway 395 north to Bishop
    Highway 395 till junction with I-120 West
    I-120 west through Yosemite Nat. Park, direction Oakdale/Manteca
    Highway 205 west
    Highway 580 west till Oakland
    Highway 580 west till San Francisco
    San Francisco

It's +500 miles (or +900 kilometres) to do in 1 day, but like said we leave early in the morning and late arrival is no problem. We also rented a comfortable SUV so that should do the job :)

After spending 1-2 days in San Francisco, we're heading south. Then we want to take the coast route '1' from San Francisco to LA.