1. Default Trying to plan a low-budget beach trip

Here's the deal..

My boyfriend and I are trying to plan a short trip by the coast somewhere. I live in Orange County and he lives in LA, and we've both been to San Diego a bunch. We want to go somewhere we've never been, like Santa Barbara or Venture or something like that. I don't know what cities are worth exploring or affordable. We are both students so time and money is VERY limited. We were thinking a 3-4 day trip for under $400 (not including gas). I've never done this before, is this even realistic?!?! Can anyone give me any suggestions? :)

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Sure, with limitations

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

You really shouldn't have any problems doing something like this under your budget, as long as you are willing to stay on a budget.

I guess the biggest element will be deciding how you are planning to sleep. If you can camp, it will be very easy to stay on budget. You'd only need to spend $60 or so on lodging total. If you eat 2 meals out of a cooler, with one restaurant meal a day, you could limit your food budget to about $50 a day. If you aren't including gas, then those are your major expenses, and you'd still have at least $100 dollars for activities.

Now if you are looking at motels, then you are going to really push up much closer to your budget limit. But even there, if you limited your spending on entertainment type items, you'd still be able to get in a very nice trip.

3. Default Beach trips on a budget -- SoCal

It's very possible to do 3-4 days on a beach trip on a budget of less than $400.

However, you've got to be reasonable and realistic about lodging and food.