Default Military moving from TX to CA

Hello to all. I am new to this blog so please bear with me. I am military currently in Iraq and as soon as I get home in NOV I will be moving to CA.

I will be traveling in DEC from central TX all the way to Monterey... trying to make it there a week before X-mas day. I am looking for at least two destinations that my family can enjoy. I have three kids (9,7,2) and I would like to show them a good time but at least one stop should have some educational value. I am planning for 5-7 days of travel with 2 days being for fun.

I need help being that we have never been to the West Coast and we have never had a roadtrip this loooong! I really appreciate your ideas and assistance. Thank you.

Default On the move again

Quote Originally Posted by papalugo View Post
    I am military currently in Iraq and as soon as I get home in NOV I will be moving to CA.
    Thank you for your service in Iraq! Our hopes for your continued safety and those of your companions. Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum! Monterey? Going to the language school?
    I am looking for at least two destinations that my family can enjoy. I have three kids (9,7,2) and I would like to show them a good time but at least one stop should have some educational value.
    Every road trip is fun! Here are some family roadtrip planning tips I think you might find useful.

I think the 9 and 7 year old youngsters might enjoy one of the cave crawls at Carlsbad National Park in New Mexico. The shortest and fastest route is I-40 to I-5 and over to the coast -- about 1700 miles and if stick to a very reasonable 500 miles per day on the travel days, you will have ample time to stop and see Carlsbad, the Grand Canyon and maybe even stop at Oatman where the burros act as traffic cops along the historic Route 66.

Happy Planning!

Mark

3. Default November?