Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default One Year RoadTrip

Editor's Note: This trip is now underway -- you can read the periodic field reports here. Although this thread has been closed -- it is still here for ideas as you plan you own trip...

This is my first time posting to this site although I have been doing quite a bit of reading here over the last few months - awesome website! My brother and I are planning a year long road trip begining next July and ending....well whenever it ends, but we are guessing around one year. I have approximately one million questions and would like to seek any advice, ideas, constructive criticism, etc. that I can get. A few of the particulars:

1. Idea: Travel through 49 states (probably won't make it to Hawaii)Canada and Baja, Mexico hitting lots of national parks, festivals or anything else that sounds interesting, spending the majority of time camping and having a very loose schedule of where we will be going. I will list a general idea of where we think we may be at certain times of the year below.
    2. Money: Our plan is to have $20,000.00 total to start the trip with, after purchasing a reliable vehicle.
    3. Automobile: ????? At this time we are looking at conversion vans that have a small kitchen, toilet, maybe a shower. We have seen late 90's models with about 70 to 80 thousand miles in the range of $6,000 to 7,000, which is our price range. While we will be doing quite a bit of camping and outdoor cooking, etc. we like the idea of having a small sink, refigerator and stove in the van for the convenience I am sure we will need and want at times. We have looked at Volkswagon vanagons, but most are at least 20 years old and I have questions about reliability and power. Any advice here? We are thinking our gas budget will be somewhere in the $4,000 range for the year, but that will obviously depend on the vehicle and the route. Any ballpark guesses as to how realistic this is?
    4. general route: