Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default First roadtrip! (MN to New Orleans & FL with boyfriend) Any ideas/comments? :)

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here, but I've been lurking and reading for quite some time. You guys always give great suggestions and tips, so I'm hoping to receive some too. :)

A little back story -
    My name is Yelena, and my boyfriend and I are taking a roadtrip from Aug 10th - August 19th. We're currently in a bit of a long distance relationship, since I graduated college about an hour and a half away and he is still there until December. I would like this trip to be casual, but also a bit romantic if possible, since this is a great opportunity for us to spend time together with no outside distractions.

We're planning on leaving Mpls on Friday, the 10th, and driving to New Orleans. We have a hotel set up for the night right by the French Quarter, and only spending a day there looking around. Then we'll head over to St. Andrews Island by Panama City Beach and camp out there for 3 nights. THen we're migrating south to Fort De Soto, by Clearwater for 2 days, and ending the FL stay across the state in Fernandina Beach for a night, by Jacksonville. We're giving ourselves 2 days to get home, and would like to drive through Savannah, GA and the Carolinas on the way back.

If anyone's ever been to any of these areas or the states that I mentioned above, do you have any recommendations for must see places/restaurants/activities? Anything on the romantic side to do at these places? Is the weather in FL really as hot and intolerable as everyone's been making it out to be? Anything really fun we can do on a budget? Any roadside attractions on the way down or back?

Thanks so much! :)

Tucson, AZ

Default Time Out

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!