Default los angeles, CA to nashville, TN in 3.5 days

Hello,
    I came across this forum when I was trying to plan my first roadtrip.
    I noticed that alot of these posts are about roadtrip with leisure. However, I have to make a speed roadtrip. I'm starting from los angeles headed to nashville. I need to arrive in nashville by the 4th day...
    I'm completely new to this... any advice, routes, how to find lodging, what to expect...
    My friend and I will be driving a black sudan and figured that we don't want it to overheat and avoid driving during the day. So how do you recommend I schedule our driving... which destinations?
    Sorry I feel abit lost.
    Thanks in advance for any advice!

Default Fortunately, They're Non-Issues

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Los Angeles to Nashville is just about 2000 miles, so your time frame is sufficient to make the drive. Read through these general tips on trips that are more about covering the distance than seeing the sights. For your purposes, I think you should try to lay down somewhere between 550 and 600 miles each of the first three days and then find lodging before you start feeling exhausted. Take an hour or so in the evening to unwind and an hour or so to get up, fed and ready to go in the morning and just try to keep a steady pace. You'll have to stick pretty much to the Interstates, I-15 and I-40, which will have plenty of motels along the way giving you the freedom to choose one on the fly.