Thread: Heading West~

Default Heading West~

Hello to everyone on the board! I'm new here and find the threads very informing and helpful. I am a college student from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and enjoy exploring the backwoods of Appalachia, and have my entire life.

My boyfriend and I have been discussing a cross-country trip which prompted me to find this site in the first place. (Good ole' Google).. We wanted to start saving now, to have enough money to do it next summer (2008)..

Here is our brainstormed destinations~

Depart: Harrisburg, PA
    West Virginia
    Kentucky
    Tennessee (Stop for Bonnaroo Festival)
    Missouri
    Kansas
    Colorado (Have friends to stay with in Breckenridge)
    Arizona (Want to do Grand Canyon, Have friends in Tuscon)
    California (anything & everything, but especially Redwood Forest)
    Oregon
    Washington
    British Columbia (2 or so days in Vancouver)
    Montana (Yellowstone & Glacier Parks)
    Wyoming (Yellowstone)
    Colorado (back to our friends in Breckenridge)
    & then back the way we came

so it's basically PA-CO, than a big west coast loop through Cali & B.C. - back to Colorado, then back to PA. We intend to jump from campground to campground the entire way, with the exceptions of a few friends we have scattered about. Don't mind using a 10$ a day budget on food. Limited souveniers (I'm an avid photographer, the pictures are all I need). All attractions we want to see are National Parks and spectacular views. 1000$ included for gas.

30 day time frame.

After considering the above + more, we came to a figure of about 3,000$ for the entire trip. Is this anywhere near correct? I can't help but feel there is more that I should be including. I know if we would bring more we would be living more comfortably, but I'm thinking economical. The experience and sights are what really matters.