Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. Default Road trip w/ learner's permit!

    hi everyone,

    i've been trying to figure my question out by looking on various states' dmv websites but i am still clueless.

    i plan to drive with my boyfriend (who is licensed and 21) from florida to pennsylvania. i am 20 and from new york, and i just recieved my learner's permit. am i allowed to drive in the other states that we're going through? that includes florida, georgia, south carolina, north carolina, virginia, west virginia, and pennsylvania.

    if anyone can enlighten me, i would very much appreciate it.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Tucson, AZ

    Default Lerner's Permit

    Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

    Well, it took a little poking around, but everything is on-line:

    * No driving from midnight to 6 a.m.?no exceptions.
    * No driving with nonfamily members for the first six months after obtaining your Class D license.
    * After six months, no more than three passengers under the age of 21.

    South Carolina:
    * You may drive alone during daylight hours from 6 a.m. until 6 p.m. (or 8 p.m. during daylight savings time).
    * From 6 p.m. (or 8 p.m. daylight savings time) until midnight , must have licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age accompanying.
    * Between midnight and 6 a.m. , licensed parent or legal guardian accompanying.
    * You cannot transport more than two passengers under the age of 21 unless accompanied by licensed adult at least 21.

    North Carolina;
    * A learner's permit authorizes the permit holder to drive a specified type or class of motor vehicles while in possession of the permit. The permit holder must, while operating a motor vehicle over the highways, be accompanied by a person who is licensed to operate the motor vehicle being driven and is seated beside the permit holder.

    * A valid learner's permit allows you to drive without a licensed driver beside you provided you have held your learner's permit for nine months and the certificate is signed by a parent or legal guardian.
    * Virginia's curfew laws prohibit a driver under age 18 who holds a learner's permit or driver's license from driving midnight to 4 A.M.

    West Virginia:
    * Licensed driver 21 or over in front seat.
    * May only drive between 5:00 am & 11:00 pm .
    * Safety belts in accordance with state law.
    * Zero alcohol tolerance

    * Blood alcohol restriction of .002 No driving midnight-5 AM, excepting; employment, school related or volunteer driving purposes
    * Learner's permit holders under 18 may not use any wireless communication device, including a cell phone, while driving, with the exception of a 911 emergency call.

    * Supervising adult for permit holder must be at least 21: An experienced, licenseddriver aged 21 or older must accompany the young driver at all times.
    * Nighttime driving restriction begins at 11 p.m.: The young driver may not be behind the wheel between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. Young drivers may travel for employment and for volunteer or charitable service during these hours, but they must carry proper documentation.


Similar Threads

  1. California Road Trip
    By mathieu in forum Spring RoadTrips
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 11:32 AM
  2. Help plan my 2 month road trip!!
    By JF2CBR in forum Planning Summer RoadTrips
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 06:06 PM
  3. Suggestions for the first road trip
    By mima4nyc in forum Planning Summer RoadTrips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 01:39 PM
  4. 4-month solo road trip
    By Krista in forum Planning Summer RoadTrips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-28-2004, 06:53 PM
  5. Road trip report - Seattle to Yosemite
    By S in forum Fall & Winter RoadTrips
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 07:46 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  • Find the Perfect Hotel
    Search RoadTrip Motels
    Enter city name