1. Default Solo Chicago to Deadhorse, Alaska--Food?

So, I'm an avid driver, but have never before taken on anything of this magnitude or composition (both civilization AND serious lack of civilization--most of my trips are either one or the other).

Anyways, assuming I don't deviate much from the planned itinerary, this trip will be approximately 9,000 (including some rather rough!) miles in total. I'm making the drive in a 1994 Camry as its potential last hurrah. As I'm hoping to make it up to the Arctic Ocean, down to Anchorage, and back to Illinois in under three weeks, it will be an aggressive, aggressive journey.

I've got tons of questions that have already been answered in other posts, but I am still a bit shaky on the food aspect of such a trip. Since I'm not in an SUV with tons of space (and since I'll need to carry TWO extra full-size wheels and a host of other mechanical extras), I don't really have room for a huge cooler (which is how I have traditionally handled the food aspect of longer trips).

Outside of civilian MRE's (which appear to be rather expensive overall), is there a resource I can tap in order to determine the best (low-cost, at least marginally healthy, and very little preparation--meaning no cooking involved) non-perishable sustenance for this trip? I'm planning on camping on the more remote stretches of the trip, but might do a few nights in hotels in the larger cities in Canada and Alaska.

Any ideas on this, or, frankly, any other aspect of the trip would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

UVA

Default Have you fully considered the risks?

Quote Originally Posted by UVAok View Post
    As I'm hoping to make it up to the Arctic Ocean, down to Anchorage, and back to Illinois in under three weeks, it will be an aggressive, aggressive journey.
    I like speed runs, but this journey is pushing the envelope a bit more than I think is reasonable. Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum!