1. Default move from LA to Seattle -- unexperienced driver

Nice website and forum! This is my first post, please be gentle.

I am an unexperienced driver. My longest trip was from LA to SF. I am going to move to Seattle for the summer and I am not yet sure if I should drive there.

I plan to take the shortest route, I-5 and to do the trip in 3 days. I don't want to drive to much as I am unexperienced. I intend to be relaxed, drive 6-8 hours/day and get a good rest in a hotel along the way. Sightseeing is not a priority. My priority is to get there safe.

I appreciate if you could give me some advice. Is this trip possible or you need to be more experienced to to this? Can you recommend me some nice places to spend the first and the second night? Do you have any good advice about driving or car maintenance?

Thank you very much.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default There's only one way...

There's only one way to get experience, and that's by doing something. So I certainly wouldn't let that stop you from making this trip.

It really should be pretty easy, especially since you don't plan to get off the Interstate. 3 days will allow you to take the trip at a nice easy pace. Some potential stopping points would include Sacramento and Medford or Eugene Oregon.

As far as car maintenance goes, it never hurts to have a mechanic examine your car for potential problems before you leave on a trip, so you can catch any problems before you hit the road. Some sort of Roadside Coverage, like AAA, can also be helpful in case you do break down enroute.

Washington state coast/Olympic Peninsula

Default It shouldn't be a problem

Traffic from LA to SF is more congested and tends to driving faster than you'll find on the rest of I-5. And LA traffic is some of the worst! So, actually, you have experience on the hard part already! The rest should be a breeze. Especially if you're taking 3 full days.