1. Default New York to Chicago

Hello there, RoadTrip America Forum! I've been lurking the forums for a while now, as I am a novice roadtripper, but this is (obviously) my first post. I am a freshman in college (I live in a suburb on Long Island, about 60 miles west of New York City) and have only been driving for a little over a year. I have, however, made driving trips to Hershey, PA, Boston, MA, and Miami, FL. As a wee lad, my family rarely went on vacation; we once went to the Thousand Islands in Canada and drove to Florida two or three times. I have this great desire to experience that which is not in my immediate sphere, but have only seen the far east coast. In my nineteen years of existence, the farthest west I have been is Key West, Florida (not very far west, I know). Because of this, I had set my (hopefully) annual summer-roadtrip sights to San Francisco. However, this dream was shortly shot down when I realized the amount of time and money this trip would require (again, poor college student who will be working a "full-time" job over the summer).

After figuring out the max amount of days I could be out of work (nine days), calculating the amount of money my girlfriend and I could (most likely) raise before we set out (roughly $2000), the most practical (and farthest west) city seemed to be Chicago. Now, this will be my first trip in which I do not have relatives with whom I can stay with, and this brings me to my first problem / question:

Where should I stay?