1. Default Driving Blue Ridge Parkway in a day

Hi,

Next Monday my wife and I will fly to Richmond, VA (from Houston, TX) to pick up a used truck (2003 Subaru Baja). We plan to drive part of the Blue Ridge Parkway on the way back. Since we have to get back to Houston late Wednesday, we really don't have much time for sight seeing but we don't want to miss a chance to drive at least part of this famous roadway. We plan to take the interstates from Richmond, VA to Roanoke, VA Monday evening and stop for the night. Early Tuesday morning, we will enter the Blue Ridge Parkway from Roanoke and will try to cover as much as we can in one day. Do you think I can reasonably reach Asheville, NC early in the evening? I'm a very experienced long-distance driver so driving all day long at the pleasure 45-mph speed limit is a piece of cake. Besides, driving that beautiful road this time of the year with a nice looking lady next to you, what more could you ask? From Asheville, NC, what is the best route to Houston, TX? Shoud I bypass Atlanta to avoid traffic? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Dan

Default Better check the road conditions

Quote Originally Posted by ddang View Post
    We plan to drive part of the Blue Ridge Parkway on the way back.
    Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum! Normally, I would say that your timing is perfect -- April on the Blue Ridge Parkway is often ideal -- but last week's unseasonably cold snap laid some fresh ice in some of the draws and it still might be a little dicey through stretches next week. Here is the road conditions report line: (828) 298 0398 administered by the NPS.
    Do you think I can reasonably reach Asheville, NC early in the evening? I'm a very experienced long-distance driver so driving all day long at the pleasure 45-mph speed limit is a piece of cake.
    Normal circumstances it should be fine! I think you need to figure an average of 35 mph, especially if the weather brings the fog.