1. Default Moving From OR To WI, Advice Needed

I am sorry for my first post being a plea for help, but I really do need it. ^_^;;

I have to move (leaving on the 15th) from Portland, Oregon, to Madison, Wisconsin. I do not have a lot of experience driving in snow (though I'm a pro in rain), and need to make it there as quickly as possible. I'll be driving in a 12' truck, and the idea that certain passes or roads might require snow chains is terrifying simply because I have no idea how to utilize them.

I don't know anything about driving through the North in winter, and I really, truly need to get there in less than five days. This isn't a sightseeing trip, sadly. (Despite the fact I've always wanted to see Glacier National Park... <_<)

If you guys might be willing to help, I need travel route recommendations (from basic maps I-90 looks like the shortest way, but... snow? Ice? Random grizzly bears that think I would make a cute snack?), where the least amount of snow might be, what's blocked up... everything. Just... the shortest possible safe route.

Thank you all very much in advance.

ZoŽ

P.S. Please don't write something like "I-80/I-84/I-90/I-674,592", as I am very much not used to road trips. ^_^;;

Default Relax

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

First of all, relax, your trip won't be nearly as stressful as you think. In fact, the actual driving part could be the easiest part of your move.