1. Default PCH over Christmas week

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie at this so I apologize if this is redundant to anyone.
    I'm planning a last minute trip to California for Dec 24th - Jan 1st.
    We'd like to fly in to San Fran and drive down to LA/San Diego through the Pacific Coast Highway. Is there anything that we can do over Christmas? Will all the stops along the way be closed?

Any iternary suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

Default lots to see

I've not traveled that highway at this time of year, so I'm sure some things may be closed, but much should be open too.

Monterey and Carmel-by-the-Sea are both great towns. Of course, John Steinbeck made that area famous.

The Hearst Castle at San Simeon is sure to be open - check - incredible!

Solvang, a bit inland near Santa Barbara is a fun wine country experience - much of the movie "Sideways" was filmed in the area.

Downtown Santa Barbara along the ocean is great people watching and they've got fun restaurants and shops along the waterfront area.

In the LA area - maybe Universal Studios or the Warner Bros VIP Tour - back stage where many films and TV shows are filmed.

And, of course, you've got to see Venice Beach, Hollywood, The Rose Bowl and all the usual stuff!

San Diego is one of my favorite cities too. Enjoy your road Trip.

Carol White

3. Default

I am planning the same trip the week after Christmas, and we'll be stopping in Monterey on Christmas night (25th) so I know that's open. I haven't heard of much of anything being closed. Good luck!

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Should be fine

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

You should be perfectly fine doing this trip at that time. In fact, based on the posts on this forum about traveling the PCH around Christmas, you will probably have plenty of company.

Other than your typical business closings on Christmas and New Years Day, you shouldn't run into any problems. However, you may want to consider making your lodging reservations in advance.