Default Portland to LA to Vegas

Hi everybody. My name's Andrew and I just joined the board. I love to travel and am probably the only person who rushes out to buy the new year's Road Atlas. Speaking of, I need to do that. I work at Land Rover of Portland washing customer cars in for service and I'm a part-time student so needless to say I'm pretty busy.

I'm finally going to be doing my long-awaited road trip this summer. My transportation will be my trusty 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe and my destinations include Los Angeles and Las Vegas. My plan is to request 7 days off from work (a Thursday, Friday and the whole next week) which will give me 11 days total and to leave around 8:30 or 9:00 (after the onslaught of rush-hour) on Thursday morning.

My major destinations include Los Angeles, Las Vegas, and the Grand Canyon, probably in that order. I'll be making Sacramento in the first day and L.A. by the second. I'll spend three days in LA, three days in Vegas and a day at the Canyon. Then I'll head home through Nevada, Utah, Idaho, and back into Oregon. Hopefully I can make it work.

As far as navigation is concerned, I'm hoping for a Garmin StreetPilot 2820 for Christmas this year. My Santa Fe has a full-size spare tire and we just got new tires in September so she'll be set. I even have a miniature emergency kit (jumper cables, flares, and emergency triangles) under the cargo floor. I plan to pack a few other things like screwdrivers and several bottles of water. Just before the trip, I'm going to have my Hyundai dealer perform the 60,000 mile service visit which includes all the necessities like the timing belt and other good stuff like that. Does anybody have tips for me and my car on this trip through the deserts?

Looking forward to meeting everyone. :)
    Last edited by deloreanman14; 12-03-2006 at 03:24 AM.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Lookin Good

Welcome to the RTA Forum!