Default Family travel from downunder

Hi. Am so glad I found this forum for some advice.

We are travelling in June/July 07 with my wife and 2 girls 13 and 11. I was an exchange student over 30 years ago and still keep in touch with my family so we would like to see them also. We are planning to fly in to LA and take the kids to Disneyland for a few days, then rent a car and head on a driving trip ending up in NC. We have 6 weeks.

I would love anyones thoughts on where to go and what to see. My initial thought was to go down through the south (as I havnt been there), and possible return a different way.

Do you think we could comfortably do this trip (return) in 6 weeks or would it be just too much. If we could do it, any thoughts on sights especially that appealed to kids and suggested stopovers would be really appreciated. If not we could fly back from NC, so we would have longer on the way over.

As I said I havnt been in 30 years so any and all suggestions would be welcomed and REALLY appreciated.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Great Plan!

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I think driving out to NY one way and then coming back another will work just fine in the time you have alotted. Doing this as a round trip will not only increase the number of places you can see, but it should also reduce your costs by quite a bit.

As far as what to see, well, there is almost too many possiblities to even start. Your kids should be getting old enough to appreciate the thousands of natural wonders you could see on your trip, but more importantly, they are old enough to do some research themselves and tell you what they'd like to see.

Having your kids actively involved in the planning should make this more enjoyable and memorable for your entire family.

Good Luck!

Tucson, AZ

Default The Devil is in the Details