Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Help! Planning cross country trip, 1 month, Boston and back!

This is my first time posting on this site, and boy am I glad to see how helpful everyone seems to be. I am a first year teacher, and for the first time in 8 years I will have the whole summer completely OFF to do whatever I please. With these thoughts, I have caught the travel bug BAD!

My boyfriend and I are in the very beginning stages of planning a cross-country trip. All we know right now is that we want it to be 4-6 weeks long, we are willing to camp, and we are starting from Boston. The two goals we have are:

1. To experience as much of the diverse cultures and areas of the USA as possible
    2. To see as much of the natural wonders and state/national parks of the USA as possible

Oh, and we're on a VERY tight budget... unfortunately, teaching is not a well-paid career.

Can anyone offer advice on what we can do to reach our two goals? What should we see? Where should we go? What SHOULDN'T we miss? Where and what should we eat? ... And how can we do this as cheaply as possible?

Thank you!

Western/Central Massachusetts

Default Welcome

Welcome to the RoadTrip America Forum!

For starters, look through this page. Much of the information you are looking for is covered there.

My list of "don't miss" would include: Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Bryce, Zion, and if this is your first time crossing it, take a moment to ponder the Mississippi River. My list is much longer than this, of course.

To keep costs down, camping is definitely a good option, though on occasion you may long for a comfortable bed. A good air mattress will help in this regard, though.

For eating, many of us prepare a cooler with a few days worth of eats in there, stopping along the way in the local grocery stores to restock. It's much cheaper than eating out for every meal, and it helps to maintain a dietary discipline, which is very important when spending long stretches in a car!