1. Default philly to california over a summer

Hey, two friends and myself are traveling all across the United States this upcoming summer. We will be leaving from our homes in Philadelphia and traveling to some really random places. We are all 21 and on pace to graduate college in the winter of 07. We figure this is really our last chance to do something of this nature and we decided it would be silly to let something like this pass us by. Being a journalist, I have worked out a deal with the newspaper I work with to run something about it a few time a week. As in where we've been, what we did and so forth. Therefore I was looking for good bars (we are just 21), college towns (to post shorts for the paper), hostels (we are college poor), and anything else you can tell us about the following cities:

This is our direct route we will be taking:

1. Philadelphia, Pa to Vermont
    2. Vermont to Chicago, IL
    3. Chicago, IL to Myrtle Beach, SC
    4. Myrtle Beach, SC to Nashville, TN
    5. Nashville, TN to Key West, FL
    6. Key West, FL to New Orleans, LA
    7. New Orleans, LA to San Antonio, TX
    8. San Antonio, TX to Phoenix, AZ
    9. Phoenix, AZ to Aspen, CO
    10. Aspen, CO to Las Vegas, NV
    11. Las Vegas, NV to Hollywood, CA

Default Have you purchased a map?

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

How long do you plan on this trip lasting, and how did you come up with this route? I ask because there is a whole lot of zig-zagging that is going to add a lot of miles, money, and time to your trip.

In terms of the areas you plan to visit, I can tell you there are 3 Hostels in Chicago, and Madison, Wi or Champaign, IL would be two good college towns to visit in that area.

3. Default motive for the zig-zag

Midwest Michael,