Default moving cross country november i-80 vs 90

Hi. I'm new to this forum. My wife and I are moving the first week of november from vermont to portland, oregon. I am a bit concerned about which route to take that time of year. On one hand, it seems that the bigger inclines and generally nasty mountain weather in the rockies on i-80 that time of year should steer us toward i-90 as the logical choice, but then again, as far as mountains go, i-90 is no picnic either and there are a lot less services. I am a seasoned winter driver, but have never dealt with anything nearly on the scale of crossing the rockies in a 17 foot uhaul towing my car behind it.

I'm wondering if any of you who live out there or have driven these routes in the winter have some advice to offer. I'd really like to avoid wimping out completely and taking the southern route through Arizona/New Mexico/up California, as the extra thousand miles would add nearly a thousand dollars to the cost of the move.

RoadTripper Brad Guest

Default The Mountans

Welcome to the Forum!

The first week of November shouldn't be too much of a problem. The real bad weather begans to creep up (at least in the Cascades anyway) until mid November on average. With that said, these are the mountains, and the mountains make their own rules.