1. Default California to Pennsylvania

I am a newbie here. Great site to find!!! We are driving our car cross-country from the L.A. area to Philadelphia in a Honda Civic. We have about 8-10 days to do this. One stop I have to make is in Oklahoma City, but other than that, the sky's the limit. Last minute motels are fine - nothing fancy as long as it's clean. We like all types of ethnic food. Off-the-beaten-path is for us, and great scenery is a must. Any suggestions would be appreciated...
    Thanks.

Default The World is (or Should Be) Your Oyster

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America forums.

You could probably make that trip in as little as 5 days if all you concentrated on were the drive. So with nearly twice as long, you really can explore some back roads, take in some scenery and generally have a very relaxed and enjoyable trip. The first thing to do is to pick your basic route. You can either start by making a list of places and things you want to see and then connecting the dots, or pick a set of highways through scenic regions and look for what's available there. If you really want 'off-the-beaten-path' then you should plan on eschewing the Interstates and looking for alternatives.

Just to get you started thinking, one possible itinerary would look like this. Leave the L.A.basin on I-10, but then leave it for CA-62 through Joshua Tree National Park. Check out London Bridge in Lake Havasu, AZ on your way up to Kingman where you can take one of the largest remaining sections of the old Route 66 through Peach Springs and Seligman. Then, of course, head up to the Grand Canyon. There is also a ton of other stuff to see and do in the area. Use I-40 to get to Petrified Forest National Park, but then head cross country on US-180 and US-70 to White Sands National Monument, Roswell, and on to Oklahoma City.