Default Mass. to CO, WA, CA, and eventually back (long trip by myself)

First I'd like to say how happy I am to have found this forum. I hope that your combined wisdom can help guide me in my plans!

Okay, heres the deal:

I'm a 24 year old guy and set to start law school next year. I basically want to use a good chunk of this time inbetween to travel around the country, making some extended stays with friends/family at the places above. I have never done this kind of thing before so I want to see as much as I can along the way. I don't have that much of a time limit, the only limit is cost of places to stay other than at the stops listed above (economical suggestions are welcome!).

I plan to leave Massachusetts probably the last week of August. My first planned stop was going to be Ann Arbor, MI to visit the school I'll be attending next year (the maps seem to indicate that I90 is the way to go from here to there), possibly a quick visit to a cousin on the opposite end of MI, then down to Chicago just to see it along the way, then nothing else till Colorado. Stay a month or so, maybe more in that area with family, see the area, national parks and stuff, then on west. Still not sure if the best way to go from there is to my friend in Sacramento first, or my other friend in Southeasern WA. I was thinking WA first because then I could go down to CA from there, then down to my brother in LA, but prolly at least a month on the west coast altogether.

So, all of that would take up most of the fall, and then whenever I head back I'd use CO as a stopover again. Prolly a southern route coming back since it will be winter, tho the thought of that part of the trip isn't too exciting. Anyone have any suggestions/tips/warnings about any of this? Am I trying to take on too big of a trip driving by myself? Thanks!

Tucson, AZ

Default Be Open to the Open Road

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America forum.