Default Trip from Houston to Roswell, NM

Hi! Newbie here! I've been out to NM several times, most recently with my Dh in the last few years as his family lives out there. But, due to circumstances, this is the first time we're able to take his kids out there. They're Sd14 & Ss12.

They've never been on any kind of long car trip other than the 3 hours to my parents house pretty regularly, and once out to San Antonio (about 4 hours). We're planning on stopping overnight about halfway to break up the trip. I'd also like to find some interesting "tourist" or senic things to see or do to allow for breaks and to help fight boredom. Usually when Dh & I go out there we just drive straight thru, trying to get to his parent's house as soon as possible. We've never taken the time to even see if there was anything interesting.

I have wonderful memories of summer vacations in the car with my family when I was a kid. Despite the normal sibling bickering! And despite my dad yelling at us from the front seat, and my mom giving us "the look". You know, the stare with the one raised eyebrow, that actually held more weight than the yelling from dad! LOL! I loved seeing all the neat places across the country that looked so different than where we were from, visiting my cousins along the way, sometimes camping, and sometimes spending a night in a motel. With a swimming pool, of course! The Grand Canyon, Yellowstone Park, seeing the Pacific Ocean for the first time, Carlsbad Caverns, the giant redwoods in Northern California...these are all memories that I treasure, and but I'm afraid my stepkids won't ever see.

So, does anyone know of any interesting stops along the way between Houston & Roswell, NM?
    Last edited by Mark Sedenquist; 07-20-2006 at 09:31 AM. Reason: Cute gif, but not allowed on this Forum

Québec, Montreal, Arizona, California, France

Default Fun stops

Hi SM_of_ 2_ in_TX and welcome to the RTA Forum!