PDA

View Full Version : train trip from atlanta to new york

samantha101
09-22-2009, 12:36 AM
Hi everyone!
I am a french student and I have been in the US (atlanta) for nearly one month now. It's the first time for me in the US so I really enjoy discovering the american landscapes and visiting new places. I am planning a trip to new york around the end of december. Also, i will have my little sister visiting, so I really would like this to be memorable for her. I thought about taking the train to go there as we would see much more than in a plane, but I don't really know if there are beautiful places along this road. Had any of you already taken the crescent train from atlanta to new york? What are the things we can see during the trip? What I want to know is wether it will be really worthy to take the train instead of the plane.
Thank you all very much!

AZBuck
09-22-2009, 07:36 PM
Bienvenue sur les forums de RoadTrip Amérique. Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Unfortunately, train service in the U.S. is not up to the level you are probably used to in France. There is a single daily train between Atlanta and New York, the Crescent, that takes nearly 18 hours for the journey, including a complete overnight portion. Fares start at around $125-150 per person, but if you would like a sleeper car, the rate would go up several hundred dollars. So flying would be both cheaper and faster. You might see more from the train, but since much of your travel would be at night, and through more industrialized areas making use of the proximity to the tracks, I think I would very much recommend flying.

AZBuck

glc
09-23-2009, 08:35 AM
If you are at least 21 years old and budget is not a major concern, look at renting a car and doing a road trip. That is the best way to see scenery.

samantha101
09-23-2009, 09:29 PM
Thanks both of you for your replies and advice( and impeccable french;)