PDA

View Full Version : LA to DC - best route?

sweepy32
06-17-2007, 10:16 AM
Hi, I am going to spend ten days driving from LA to DC with a friend and we are lost with route options. I have heard that Utah and Wyoming have the best scenery as far as driving so we were thinking of doing LA to Las Vegas and up through Utah, Wyoming, and then S. Dakota and eastward.

Want to spend much more time in the west and rush the east portion. I dont think we have time to go up to the Grand Tetons or Yellowstone unfortunately, so I need a more direct route.

So, I'm looking for itinerary ideas from Las Vegas to DC basically, going north. Is this too ambitious? I would appreciate any advice, I am new to this. =)

Thanks so much!

AZBuck
06-17-2007, 11:06 AM
Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

With the understanding that possible and desirable may be two separate things, it would be possible to see everything on your list and still make it to DC in ten days. Keep in mind that a minimalist route between LA and DC would take 5-6 days, that leaves you a fair bit of time to play around with. The basic route I'm going to recommend that you look at goes like this:

Take I-15 up through Las Vegas and Utah to Salt Lake City. North of Salt Lake take US-89 north through The southeastern corner of Idaho and up through the Tetons and Yellowstone to I-90 in southern Montana and then head east to DC via I-90/I-80/I-76/I-70/I-270. I would mark the division between your 'seeing the west' portion and your 'rushing through the east' portion as Wall, SD. From there to DC it's around 1500 miles which can be made in three relatively comfortable driving days, but still leave you an hour or two out of the car each day for some exercise or the odd site that catches your fancy.