PDA

View Full Version : Dallas to Seattle Round - Planning stages

james1
03-05-2007, 12:15 PM
My first ever post and planning a first ever long-distance drive this summer (the most driving I have done is a 500 mile non stop). Any ideas/suggestions/advise are much appreciated.

Since I've never done anything like this before, pls. let me know if I am out of my mind here. Traveling with me are my wife and 2 little children (2 and 4), and I am driving a Toyota Sienna 2 WD.

We are planning to travel middle of June going straight north, cutting across OK, and KS, travel east to Denver and hit Cheyenne, WY. (971 miles about 15 hours drive with little breaks here and there as needed, switching the driving every couple of hours with my wife). All that on day 1. Stop for night in Cheyenne, WY.

Next morning start early and hit Seattle in 17 hours (1235 miles) and reach late night. I hear from ppl. that they have done it - but I want to make sure that this is realistic. Pls. let me know if I am better off flying. TIA.

Mark Sedenquist
03-05-2007, 12:32 PM
My first ever post and planning a first ever long-distance drive this summer Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum! The distances you are trying to cover in the specified time periods with two little children -- simply impossible!
(971 miles about 15 hours drive with little breaks here and there as needed, switching the driving every couple of hours with my wife). The fastest possible driving time (with the change of drivers, road condtions slow down, fuel and food breaks) would be nearly 17 hours. If you were to reach this point in only 15 hours you would need to drive at least 95 mph for hours on end and I think the highway patrol might slow you down a little.